The Highly Sensitive Parent by Elaine N. Aron

The Highly Sensitive Parent by Elaine N. AronEnter for your chance to win a copy of THE HIGHLY SENSITIVE PARENT by Elaine N. Aron!

Parenting is the most valuable and rewarding job in the world, and also one of the most challenging. This is especially true for highly sensitive people. Highly sensitive parents are unusually attuned to their children. They think deeply about every issue affecting their kids and have strong emotions, both positive and negative, in response. For highly sensitive people, parenting offers unique stresses—but the good news is that sensitivity can also be a parent’s most valuable asset, leading to increased personal joy and a closer, happier relationship with their child.
Dr. Elaine Aron, world-renowned author of the classic The Highly Sensitive Person and other bestselling books on the trait of high sensitivity, has written an indispensable guide for these parents. Drawing on extensive research and her own experience, she helps highly sensitive parents identify and address the implications of their heightened sensitivity, offering:

A self-examination test to help parents identify their level of sensitivity

Tools to cope with overstimulation

Advice on dealing with the negative feelings that can surround parenting

Ways to manage the increased social stimulation and interaction that comes with having a child

Techniques to deal with shyness around other parents

Insight into the five big problems that face highly sensitive parents in relationships—and how to work through them.

Little Gods by Meng Jin

Little Gods by Meng JinEnter for your chance to win a hardcover copy of LITTLE GODS!

Combining the emotional resonance of Home Fire with the ambition and innovation of Asymmetry, LITTLE GODS is explores the complex web of grief, memory, time, physics, history, and selfhood in the immigrant experience, and the complicated bond between daughters and mothers.

On the night of the Tiananmen Square Massacre, a woman gives birth in a Beijing hospital alone. Thus begins the unraveling of Su Lan, a brilliant physicist who until this moment has successfully erased her past, fighting what she calls the mind’s arrow of time.

When Su Lan dies unexpectedly seventeen years later, it is her daughter Liya who inherits the silences and contradictions of her life. Liya, who grew up in America, takes her mother’s ashes to China—to her, an unknown country. In a territory inhabited by the ghosts of the living and the dead, Liya’s memories are joined by those of two others: Zhu Wen, the woman last to know Su Lan before she left China, and Yongzong, the father Liya has never known. In this way a portrait of Su Lan emerges: an ambitious scientist, an ambivalent mother, and a woman whose relationship to her own past shapes and ultimately unmakes Liya’s own sense of displacement.

Kidnapped on Safari by Peter Riva

Kidnapped on Safari by Peter RivaPlease enter for a chance to win one copy of only 25 being given away (with shipping) - this is a first printing of Kidnapped On Safari and the author will sign copies!

"Kidnapped on Safari is a richly-detailed Pero Baltazar thriller set in Africa that quickly seduces the reader with authentic touches that could’ve been ripped from today’s headlines. … This is a whip-smart page-turner impossible to put down once you begin reading." - Robert Morgan Fisher, Winner of the 2018 Chester B. Himes Fiction Prize and Finalist for the 2019 John Steinbeck Award

"This captivating story, involving Russian efforts to destabilize East-Africa with the help of Boko Haram extremists, is in itself enough to chain you to your seat. Add to this Peter Riva’s soulful rendering of the African spirit, and you have an outstanding reading experience that will linger for a long time." – Bob van Laerhoven, author of international bestselling and award-winning Baudelaire’s Revenge and twelve other novels.

"Riva delivers rat-a-tat action, rarely letting up, building to a nail-biter conclusion. Move over Jason Bourne. Baltazar is here." -- Mary Glickman, bestselling author and a National Jewish Book Award Finalist.

"A clever and entertaining novel in an exotic setting...Few books set in Africa give such a detailed description of settings and language as this one... this book betrays a writer very well at home in his craft." -- Guido Eekhaut, Hercule Poirot Award winner.

Everafter Song by Emily R. King

Everafter Song by Emily R. KingIn the heart-stopping conclusion to Emily R. King’s The Evermore Chronicles, the fate of the seven worlds lies in the courage of a girl on the run—and running out of time.

There’s a price on Everley Donovan’s head. Fleeing from the queen’s false accusation of murder and sorcery, the girl with the clock heart knows there’s only one way to prove her innocence. Everley must catch Killian Markham, the fugitive prince guilty of the crimes for which she’s been condemned. To do that, Everley must follow him into the towering realm of the Silver-Clouded Plain. It’s where flesh-eating behemoths thrive, long-lost gods hide, and an artifact of destructive force awaits the death grip of the immortal prince.

Haunted by visions of burning Everwoods and bloody battlefields, Everley is beset with rising fears. Because the elusive relic threatens more than the very power that drives her clock heart. In Killian’s hands, it can lead to the dismantling of the seven worlds. With everything—and everyone—Everley loves at stake, she must depend on Killian’s one weakness to outwit him: in his mad ambitions, Killian has underestimated her once again. For Everley is the Time Bearer. This is her destiny. The time of reckoning is at hand.

We Will Rise by Steve Beaven

We Will Rise by Steve BeavenThe inspiring true story of the tragic loss and triumphant resurrection of a basketball team and its coach at the heart of a small Indiana town.

By 1977 the University of Evansville’s Purple Aces basketball team had won five small-college national championships. With a charismatic young coach and a freshman phenom, this small Indiana city hoped to see its team shine in the national spotlight. Then, on a foggy night, after just four games, the plane carrying the team and its coach crashed after takeoff, killing everyone on board.

The tragedy seemed insurmountable, a devastating blow to the identity of a fading factory town. But, with the support of a city in mourning, ambitious new coach Dick Walters promised to rebuild the cherished institution. Assembling a team of castoffs, walk-ons, and overachievers, Walters restored the legacy of the team and its fans. Against all odds, his young men made history.

A tribute to those who were lost, and to those who carried on, We Will Rise is the rich and powerful story of an underdog team and its fans and the spirit of a resilient community.

The Amber Project by J.N. Chaney

The Amber Project by J.N. ChaneyEnter for a chance to win one of 100 free copies of The Amber Project by J.N. Chaney.

200 years after the world ends, their future begins. In 2157, a mysterious gas known as Variant spreads across the globe, killing or mutating most organic life. The surviving humans take refuge in an underground city, determined to return home. But after generations of failures and botched attempts, hope is beginning to dwindle. That is, until a young scientist makes a unique discovery--and everything changes.

The Black Alabaster Box by Frances Schoonmaker

The Black Alabaster Box by Frances SchoonmakerEnter for a chance to win one 40 copies of The Black Alabaster Box by Frances Schoonmaker.
It had been quiet along the Santa Fe Trail for more than a year when the Stokes Company set out for California, the Willis family among them. A reluctant traveler, Grace Willis longs for her comfortable, safe, and privileged life at home. Just as she is learning to negotiate life on the trail, Grace is kidnapped by fellow travelers and taken into Oklahoma Territory. She must decide if she will cave in to despair or muster the courage to run away and search for her parents. Grace finds help in unlikely places. She discovers that there really is such a thing as magic and there are some things only a child can do.

Unspeakable Things by Jess Lourey

Unspeakable Things by Jess LoureyInspired by a terrifying true story from the author’s hometown, a heart-pounding novel of suspense about a small Minnesota community where nothing is as quiet—or as safe—as it seems.

Cassie McDowell’s life in 1980s Minnesota seems perfectly wholesome. She lives on a farm, loves school, and has a crush on the nicest boy in class. Yes, there are her parents’ strange parties and their parade of deviant guests, but she’s grown accustomed to them.

All that changes when someone comes hunting in Lilydale.

One by one, local boys go missing. One by one, they return changed—violent, moody, and withdrawn. What happened to them becomes the stuff of shocking rumors. The accusations of who’s responsible grow just as wild, and dangerous town secrets start to surface. Then Cassie’s own sister undergoes the dark change. If she is to survive, Cassie must find her way in an adult world where every sin is justified, and only the truth is unforgivable.

Living in Color by Tommy Davidson

Living in Color by Tommy DavidsonEnter for your chance to win a copy of LIVING IN COLOR by Tom Teicholz and Tommy Davidson!

In 1990, Tommy Davidson burst onto the scene in the Emmy Award-winning show In Living Color, a pioneering sketch comedy show, featuring a multi-racial cast of actors and dancers who spoke to an underrepresented new generation created by Hip Hop Nation. In this revealing memoir, Tommy shares his unique perspective on making it in Hollywood, being an integral part of television history, on fame and family, and on living a life that has never been black and white—just funny and true.

Told with humor and hard-won honesty by a singular voice whose family and friendships help him navigate a life of personal and professional highs and lows, Living in Color is a bracing, illuminating, and remarkable success story.

Havenfall by Sara Holland

Havenfall by Sara  HollandEnter to win an ARC of HAVENFALL by Sara Holland!

New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.

Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds, each with their own magic, together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.

For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering her brother. It's where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it's where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.

But this summer, the impossible happens, a dead body is found, shattering everything the inn stands for. With Brekken missing, her uncle gravely injured, and a dangerous creature on the loose, Maddie suddenly finds herself responsible for the safety of everyone in Havenfall. She'll do anything to uncover the truth, even if it means working together with an alluring new staffer Taya, who seems to know more than she's letting on. As dark secrets are revealed about the inn itself, one thing becomes clear to Maddie--no one can be trusted, and no one is safe.

A Conspiracy of Bones by Kathy Reichs

A Conspiracy of Bones by Kathy ReichsEnter for a chance to win one of 50 advance readers copies of Kathy Reichs's new Temperance Brennan novel, A CONSPIRACY OF BONES! Tempe must use all her tradecraft to discover the identity of a faceless corpse and its connection to a decade-old missing child.

Back To Top